Week 12 blog

How can others apply what I learned to their classrooms? What needs to be considered now? What will I do next?

I think that whoever reads my research would see that I learned to use different methods for teaching a specific skill. Some children do well with oral directions, some do better with seeing the directions, other do well with seeing a demonstration. I knew this all along, that as a teacher, I am responsible for differentiating my teaching methods. But, when I did my data collection, I noticed that I was only doing one or two strategies and wasn’t engaging some of my students. Doing the research has helped me to become more aware of my teaching to all learning styles.

I strongly feel that substitute teachers would greatly benefit from know this. Because substitutes often come in and just read the sub plans and don’t do more than that. I wrongly assume that they would automatically just do the steps, but I am reminded that substitute teachers are not always able to get the training to work with children. So, I am going to make sure that I list every step for my substitute and leave tips for them so that they will have a successful day.

The next thing I will do is to share this with my principal and share with him that the techniques or strategies can be shared during substitute teacher orientation in the beginning of the year.

3 thoughts on “Week 12 blog

  1. Taking students various learning styles into consideration is so much easier said than done! I am impressed that you successfully implemented the differentiated lessons. A great example to all of us!

    • I also found that my project made me more aware of what I am lacking as a teacher in using a variety of methods and strategies for a diverse group of learners. I guess that is why we do these projects. I have also learned that conducting these research projects (minus all the additional writing!) is something I would like to continue to find what works, what doesn’t, how my students will respond, and to reflect on my methods as a teacher.

  2. Great job implementing the differentiated teaching strategies. I think it is a great idea to write down the steps for subs as well. I have subbed and some teachers leave great plans while others leave poor ones. I am glad that I have a teaching background when I get the poor plans, and wonder what subs who have no education background would do.

    It is a great idea to share it with your principal as well.

Leave a comment