Conclusions and Recommendations

Conclusion and Recommendation

This study, this classroom research class, has taught me to be more aware of my students and of my teaching style. It has forced me to reflect on what engagement strategies work and what does not.   I began this study looking at my students and wondering why they were not learning. I finished the study looking at myself and focusing on things that I can do to reach each child differently. Some children do well with oral directions, some do better with seeing the directions, other do well with seeing a demonstration.  I knew about differentiating my lessons, but this research helped me to focus on it.

I believe that my Administrator, along with substitute teachers, would greatly benefit from this study. Because substitutes often come in and just read the sub plans and do not do more than that.   Not all substitute teachers have an educational background and sometimes I wrongly assume that they would automatically just do the steps that I have written. But I am reminded that substitute teachers are not always able to get the training to work with children. So, I am going to make sure that I list every step for my substitute and leave tips for them so that they will have a successful day.

The next thing I will do is to share this with my principal. He and I can share the techniques or strategies during substitute teacher orientation in the beginning of the year or add it to the orientation packets.

Leave a comment